RB box

Rail Baron®
World Boardgaming Championships
at Lancaster, PA - August 4 to 10, 2014

What is Rail Baron? - Illustrated Description and History
How to attend the WBC and play in the Rail Baron tournament

2014 Tournament Results

updated 18 August 2014

The finalists at the 2014 World Boardgaming Championships Rail Baron tourney:

2014 finalists

From left to right: Brian Conlon (2014 champ), Brian Smith, Jeff Jackson, Donna Balkan, and Sue Lanham. Picture above courtesy Paul Van Bloem, account below courtesy Ron Secunda.

This year's tournament was quite exciting. For one thing, the number of players who won two of the first-round heats was the highest since I have been GM. Congratulations to Brian Conlon, Paul Van Bloem, John Henry, Donna Balkan, and Sue Lanham. Also, one player in the Final got close enough to victory to taste it twice, only to have it disappear twice!

The holdings for the Final players when all properties had been purchased were: Brian Conlon: AT&SF, CMSTP&P, CB&Q, SOU, IC. Brian Smith: PA, NYNH&H, B&M, UP, RF&P, SLSF, T&P. Jeff Jackson: NYC, SP, L&N, C&NW, NP. Donna Balkan: B&O, WP, D&RGW, CRI&P, GN, ACL, GM&O. Sue Lanham: C&O, SAL, MP, N&W.

One player in the Final went bankrupt. Sue's future looked bleak early on when, sitting in Seattle, she rolled San Diego as a destination, while the AT&SF, UP, and SP had already been purchased. From there, things didn't get much better. Surprisingly, it was Brian Conlon, not Sue, who first had to auction railroads. The first was the IC to Jeff for 15K, and then his SOU to Brian Smith for 29K. Sue had to auction her MP off to Brian Smith for $27.5K, and her downward spiral continued. She auctioned off her N&W to Jeff for $12K, her SAL to Donna for $10K, and her last railroad, the C&O, to Brian Conlon for $10K.

Jeff was the first player to announce $150K. Jeff subsequently found himself in Chicago with $213.5K, but then had to travel to two hostile destinations, Boston and Des Moines. At this time, Jeff's only competition (cash-wise) was Brian Smith, who announced $150K. Jeff's next destination after Des Moines was New York City. After reaching New York with plenty of cash on hand, he declared for his home city of Charlotte. Unfortunately, whereas he needed a 10 to win the game, he only rolled a 6, and retreated northward, where he was rovered near Albany anyway by Brian Smith, who had rolled a 16! Now, Brian Smith had $221K, but was on his way to a hostile Detroit. Jeff proceeded to his alternate destination, San Antonio, and had $201.5K upon arriving. His next destination was Boston, and Brian Smith, fearing Jeff would again be in a position to return to Charlotte, began an epic journey through several regions on an assortment of owned and unfriendly railroads to stay nearby. Meanwhile, Donna announced over $150K, and Brian Conlon had arrived in Los Angeles and announced with $175K. Eventually, neither Jeff nor Brian Smith could declare for home, and they both had to head to destinations out west, Jeff to Los Angeles, and Brian to Spokane (with $266.5K) on board.

At this point, Jeff, with way over $200K, rolled for his next destination and, as fate would have it, rolled SW. He chose SE, then unbelievably rolled his home city! Brian Smith, with nothing to lose at this point, declared for his home in Dallas. Brian Conlon amazingly rolled an 18 on his way to hostile Cleveland, and then proceeded to Fort Worth, where he arrived with $203K. Jeff had been moving along his SP toward Charlotte, and was finally just 10 spaces from his home city (again), when Brian Conlon declared for his home city, Chicago. He needed a 13 to arrive, and rolled a 14, to win the game. Talk about coming from behind! For those of us who had a less than stellar tournament, there's always next year. Me? I bought new dice. It was that or sacrifice a chicken...

Ron Secunda

Prior Champions

2013 Trella Bromley, 2013 tournament info
2012 Donna Balkan, 2012 tournament info
2011 Sue Lanham, 2011 tournament info
2010 John Henry, 2010 tournament info
2009 Mark McCandless, 2009 tournament info
2008 Eve Secunda, 2008 tournament info
2007 Tom Dunning, 2007 tournament info
2006 Inger Henning, 2006 tournament story
2005 Bill Duke, 2005 tournament story
2004 Doug Galullo, 2004 tournament story
2003 Mike Zorrer, 2003 tournament story
2002 Ed Wrobel, 2002 tournament story
2001 Steve Okonski, 2001 tournament story
2000 Steve Okonski 2000 tournament story
1999 Heikki Thoen 1999 tournament story
1998 Eyal Mozes 1998 tournament story
1997 Kimberly Lemmons 1997 tournament story
1996 Heikki Thoen
1995 Heikki Thoen
1994 Bill Fellin
1993 Kevin Quirk
1992 Kevin Quirk
1991 Chuck Foster


WBC and BPA Web site - See the event schedule
Rail Baron Fanatics - Get Rail Baron software and practice

Any BPA GM who wishes to create a Web page for his/her game is welcome to copy the HTML of this page and modify it as needed. Rail Baron is an internationally registered trademark of Intersystem Concepts, Inc.